Pacific Asia Travel Association Thailand Chapter

PATA Thailand Appoints New Executives

18-01-08 07:28 Age: 121 days
Category: General


BANGKOK, January 18, 2008 – The PATA Thailand Chapter, which represents over 100 international tourism-related organizations in Thailand, has appointed its new executive committee for 2008/2009*.

The executive committee was appointed at the chapter’s annual general meeting on January 16. Mr Luzi Matzig, Group CEO of Bangkok-based tour operator Asian Trails was appointed Chairman.

The committee’s focus will be to deliver education and skill training workshops for members and to offer tourism policy advice to the Ministry of Tourism and Sport and the Tourism Authority of Thailand. The committee will also address ways to give members practical knowledge to help them comply with environmental requirements. An increasing number of overseas tourism companies now insist that Thailand’s tourism operators must have environmental policies and procedures in place before doing business with them.

The chapter has therefore appointed Mr Vincent Tabuteau of East West Siam to head a new environment committee. It will be tasked with providing practical pro-environment procedures for member organizations to implement.

Mr Matzig said: “The committee comprises very experienced hoteliers, travel agents, and experts in training, the environment, e-commerce and tourism support services. Together we will work to boost Thailand’s competitive position in international tourism.”

The committee also comprises senior executives from THAI Airways International and the Tourism Authority of Thailand.

The Chapter has pledged its support for PATA head office, which will organize the PATA CEO Challenge “Confronting Climate Change”. The two-day event, aimed at CEOs will take place in Bangkok April 29-30 and is being hosted by the Tourism Authority of Thailand.


* PATA Thailand Chapter Executive Committee members, 2008-2009

Phornsiri Manoharn (Tourism Authority of Thailand) - Hon. Advisor

Luzi Matzig (Asian Trails) - Chairman, Executive Committee & Marketing Committee

Kusa Panyarachun (World Travel Service) - Vice Chairman & Hon. Treasurer

M.L. Hathaijanok Kritakara (Accor Asia Pacific) - Secretary & Chairman, Programme Committee

Bob James (Sheer Bravado Design & Marketing) - Chairman, Education Committee

Nino E. Jotikasthira (Turismo Asia) - Chairman, Membership Committee

Ken Scott (ScottAsia Communications) - Chairman, P.R. Committee

Danai Wansom (Aprime Hotels & Resorts) - Chairman, Industry Development Committee

Vincent Tabuteau (East West Siam) - Committee Member

Duncan Jamieson (Dusit Hotel & Resorts) - Committee Member

Pichai Chunganuwad (Thai Airways International) - Committee Member

Nattera Kachornserelikitkul (Tourism Authority of Thailand) - Committee Member

Bert Van Walbeek (The Winning Edge) - Committee Member

Heiko Wilms (WD Travel)- Committee Member

James Reed (Destination Asia) - Committee Member

Apichai Sakulsureeyadej (MSL Software) – Advisor